Respond, [...] reassure, inform...

If a crisis happens abroad – such as a natural disaster, terrorist attack, plane crash, serious socio-political tensions, etc. – and French nationals’ safety is threatened, a crisis unit is activated at the Crisis and Support Centre (CDCS). This decision is taken in conjunction with the embassy and consulate. Humanitarian aid for local populations may also be deployed if the country requests assistance.

On call 24/7

The CDCS’s monitoring service, which runs day and night, issues the alert. The on-call manager, who becomes the crisis director, immediately mobilizes the on-call staff. The unit is quickly operational, whether its services are needed day or night and even weekends. It operates 24/7 for as long as the situation requires it.
The main priority is to better understand the situation as quickly as possible and to work with the local diplomatic post to identify the potential French victims or nationals needing assistance.

Complementary skill sets

All staff members who are called to action have a specific assignment. They perform a range of complementary roles that cover:
- monitoring of the situation
- follow-up with the victims to establish victim lists and assist families
- logistics
- management of CDCS teams to ensure constant coverage
- preparing media communication, including on social platforms
- healthcare-related expertise
- other expertise depending on the crisis

All staff work out of a single location with a crisis manager, supported by an assistant and a coordinator. Staff from other ministries may also be mobilized (Ministries of Justice, of the Interior, for Health, etc.) as well as representatives from victims’ associations or victim support associations.

When necessary, the crisis unit will also open a hotline to keep families informed. The hotline unit is covered by volunteers from the Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs and the French Red Cross to provide back-up support to the diplomatic post. Families’ contact information is kept on file so they can be informed as soon as the person they are looking for has been located.

Support in the field

Support in the field

Reinforcement teams may be dispatched to the affected country if requested by the local posted diplomats. These teams include CDCS staff, who may be joined by civilian protection officers, military personnel, medical corps workers (doctors, psychologists, etc.), association staff and others who will support the consular teams’ efforts.

Personnal Account

Ouagadougou, 13 August 2017

Being present around the world to assist victims of terrorist attacks and their families

From Algeria to Burkina Faso, Colombia, Egypt, India, Kenya, Mali, Morocco, the United Kingdom, Tunisia and others, the list of countries hit by terrorist attacks in the past decade is long. Around fifty French nationals have been killed in various attacks since 2008. Each time, the Crisis and Support Centre (CDCS) springs to action to immediately help and support victims and their loved ones until other organizations are able to take over operations. In addition to those who are killed, numerous others are wounded. The CDCS ensures they receive medical care in the country where the attack occurred and follows up on repatriation conditions.
It is an emotionally demanding job that reflects the commitment of all those who work at the CDCS.

Ouagadougou, 13 August 2017: Catherine Gouy-Levy’s story

Ouagadougou, 13 August 2017, around 9.30pm – Armed men targeted the mainly expatriate clientele at the restaurant Istanbul in the centre of Burkina Faso’s capital. In all, 18 people were killed and a dozen wounded during this terrorist attack. Among the victims was one French national, Thierry Gouy. He sent a message to his family during the attack, and then, silence. For his loved ones, the following hours were interminable. As the night went on, they had no idea how to react and were left waiting and following the media for clues on what was happening. Early the next morning, the family received a call from a friend in Ouagadougou who gave them the terrible news. Catherine Gouy-Levy, Mr Gouy’s sister, took on the role of the family’s spokesperson. She called the Crisis and Support Centre to register and request official confirmation, still hoping on some level for a different outcome.

At the CDCS, a crisis unit had been activated since the beginning of the attack (which is the standard practice for this type of situation), remaining in constant contact with the consulate. Because the location of the attack was popular with expatriates and foreign tourists, there was a strong probability that French nationals could have been affected. Ms Gouy-Levy remembers very clearly the person who answered her call and had to find the words to confirm her brother’s death. “I felt – and still do – that my brother’s death would always be a deep source of pain for us. Our lives were forever changed.” The CDCS staff member gave her the initial information on her new “status” as a victim for her and her loved ones and asked if she had any questions. She did not, but she was “reassured to know that someone was there for us,” she recalls. If she needed anything, she could call at any time – “We’re here, day or night.

Then came the formalities. The CDCS, through the Individual Cases Unit, was there to help and make travel arrangements for loved ones in Burkina Faso and organize the repatriation of Mr Gouy’s body to France. As with any French victim of a terrorist attack abroad, a repatriation arrival ceremony for Mr Gouy was planned at the airport if the family wanted to attend. For Ms Gouy-Levy, it was a very important moment when she would have to confront the reality of her brother’s death. The family, gathered in a room of the Charles de Gaulle airport, felt both immense grief and a sense of comfort to see Mr Gouy’s memory honoured in this way. “It was very early, the sun was coming up. I wasn’t sure I would manage to keep standing to follow the procession. With all the officials, the line of law enforcement officers saluting the coffin, with the French flag covering my brother’s coffin. So many emotions. But you were there. You gave us strength, supported us in the background. We knew you were there.
I wanted to tell this story for the CDCS’s 10th anniversary, my heart goes out to all the French victims who were killed in terrorist attacks abroad, because people are not aware of this part of the CDCS’s work with the families of victims. Their benevolence is essential and invaluable.

Apporter des réponses, [...] rassurer, renseigner...

En cas de crise à l’étranger (catastrophe naturelle, attentat terroriste, accident d’avion, tensions sociopolitiques aggravées…), si la sécurité des ressortissants français se trouve menacée, une cellule de crise est activée au Centre de Crise et de Soutien (CDCS). Cette décision est prise en coordination avec l’ambassade et le consulat. Une aide humanitaire destinée aux populations locales peut également être déployée si le pays le demande.

Une mobilisation 24/24

La cellule de veille -service du CDCS chargé de la surveillance jour et nuit- lance l’alerte. Le cadre d’astreinte -qui devient le directeur de crise- mobilise alors immédiatement les agents d’astreinte. En journée, comme en soirée ou en week-end, la cellule est opérationnelle très rapidement. Elle fonctionne 24h sur 24 tant que la situation le nécessite.
L’enjeu majeur est de cerner au plus vite la situation et d’identifier avec le poste diplomatique les potentielles victimes françaises ou les Français en besoin d’assistance.

Des compétences complémentaires

Chacune des personnes mobilisées a une mission précise. Des rôles divers mais complémentaires qui recouvrent :
- le suivi de la situation,
- le suivi des victimes pour établir les listes de victimes et venir en soutien aux familles,
- la logistique,
- la gestion des équipes du CDCS afin qu’elles puissent se relayer,
- la préparation de la communication vers les médias et sur les réseaux sociaux,
- l’expertise santé,
- d’autres expertises selon la thématique de la crise…

Tous travaillent dans un lieu unique autour du directeur de crise, épaulé par un assistant et un coordinateur. Des personnels d’autres ministères peuvent également être mobilisés (ministères de la Justice, de l’Intérieur, de la Santé…) ainsi que des représentants d’associations de victimes ou d’aide aux victimes.
Lorsque cela est nécessaire, la cellule de crise ouvre également un numéro d’urgence afin de renseigner les familles. Assurée par des personnels volontaires du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, ainsi que par des bénévoles de la Croix-Rouge française, la cellule de « réponse téléphonique » intervient en soutien du poste diplomatique. Leurs coordonnées sont consignées afin de pouvoir les rappeler dès que la personne qu’elles recherchent est localisée.

Venir en renfort sur le terrain

A la demande des diplomates basé dans le pays touché, l’envoi de missions de renfort sur le terrain peut être décidé. Ces missions sont composées d’agents du CDCS, auxquels peuvent se joindre, des agents de la sécurité civile, des militaires, des réservistes sanitaires (médecins, psychologues…), des associations… qui viendront soutenir le travail des équipes consulaires.

Témoignage

Ouagadougou, 13 août 2017

Partout dans le monde, être présents auprès des victimes d’attentats et de leurs familles

Algérie, Burkina Faso, Colombie, Egypte, Inde, Kenya, Mali, Maroc, Royaume-Uni, Tunisie… La liste des pays touchés par des attentats, durant la dernière décennie, est encore longue. Une cinquantaine de nos compatriotes sont morts dans différentes attaques terroristes depuis 2008. A chaque fois, la mission du Centre de Crise et de Soutien (CDCS) est d’aider, d’accompagner les victimes, les familles, les proches dans cette première phase avant que le relais ne soit pris par d’autres structures. Au terrible décompte des victimes s’ajoute celui des blessés. Le CDCS veille au suivi de leur prise en charge médicale dans le pays où est survenue l’attaque ainsi qu’au suivi des conditions de rapatriement.
Un type de mission intense humainement dans lequel s’illustre l’engagement des agents du Centre de crise et de soutien.

Ouagadougou, 13 août 2017 : Catherine Gouy-Levy témoigne

Ouagadougou, le 13 août 2017, aux alentours de 21h30 – Des hommes armés prennent pour cible la clientèle majoritairement expatriée du restaurant Istanbul au centre de la capitale burkinabé. Cette attaque terroriste fait 18 morts et une dizaine de blessés. Parmi les victimes, un Français, Thierry Gouy. Il envoie un dernier message à sa famille pendant l’attaque puis c’est le silence. Pour ses proches, des heures interminables commencent. La nuit se passe, sans savoir comment réagir, à attendre et suivre les informations dans les médias à la recherche d’un indice. Au petit matin, la famille reçoit l’appel d’un proche présent sur place qui leur annonce la terrible nouvelle. A ce moment-là, Catherine Gouy-Levy, la sœur de Thierry Gouy, endosse le rôle du chef de famille et décide d’appeler le Centre de crise et de soutien, pour se signaler et pour avoir une confirmation officielle, se raccrochant toujours inconsciemment à l’espoir d’entendre une autre nouvelle.

Au CDCS, depuis le début de l’attaque, comme à chaque fois que la situation le requiert, une cellule de crise (en lien permanent avec le consulat) est activée. Le lieu de l’attentat est très fréquenté par les expatriés et les étrangers de passage dans la capitale, aussi la probabilité que des Français aient pu être touchés est élevée. Catherine Gouy-Levy se souvient parfaitement de l’agent qui a répondu à son appel et a su trouver les mots pour lui confirmer le décès de son frère. « J’ai ressenti et je ressens toujours la disparition de mon frère comme une condamnation à perpétuité de nos souffrances. Nos vies ont basculé ». L’agent lui donne les premières informations sur son nouveau « statut » de victime pour elle et ses proches et lui demande si elle a des questions. Elle n’en a pas mais elle est « rassurée de savoir qu’il y avait quelqu’un près de nous » témoigne-t-elle. Et qu’en cas de besoin, elle pouvait rappeler à tout moment. « Nous sommes là. Jour et nuit ».

Puis vient la phase des formalités. Le CDCS est présent, via l’unité des Affaires individuelles pour aider et organiser le séjour des proches sur place, planifier le retour de la dépouille sur le sol français. Comme pour toute victime française d’un acte terroriste à l’étranger, une cérémonie de retour du cercueil de Thierry Gouy est organisée à l’aéroport si la famille le souhaite. Pour Catherine Gouy-Levy, ce moment a une importance capitale, la première confrontation avec la réalité du décès de son frère. Comme pour tous les membres de la famille réunis dans un salon de l’aéroport de Roissy-Charles–De-Gaulle, les sentiments étaient mêlés entre une douleur immense et le réconfort de voir la mémoire de Thierry Gouy ainsi saluée dans ces circonstances. « Il était très tôt, le soleil se levait sur Roissy. Je ne pensais jamais arriver à me tenir droite et à suivre le cérémonial. Avec les officiels, avec cette haie d’agents de forces de l’ordre saluant le cercueil, avec ce drapeau français recouvrant le cercueil de mon frère. Tant d’émotions. Mais vous étiez tous là. Nous donnant la force, nous entourant avec sobriété. Nous sentions toute votre présence dans la discrétion ». « Je tenais à témoigner pour ces 10 ans du CDCS, avec une pensée pour toutes les victimes françaises qui ont été tuées dans des actes terroristes à l’étranger, car cet aspect de l’intervention du CDCS auprès des familles de victimes est méconnu et cette dimension humaine me semble indispensable et inestimable ».