State of emergency in Thailand

Everyone realised very quickly that the [Crisis Centre] was generating involvement...

In Autumn 2008, Thailand was being torn apart. Opponents and supporters of the former Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra, in exile abroad, clashed during increasingly violent demonstrations. On 2 September 2008, a state of emergency was declared. In October, two people were killed and hundreds injured during an anti-government protest. On 25 November, Bangkok’s airports – the largest in the country – were taken over by protestors.

A bomb killed one and injured some 20 others occupying the Don Mueang Airport in Bangkok, leading to the indefinite suspension of all international flights. The airport closures blocked nearly 100,000 passengers in the country. The French Embassy in Bangkok immediately set up a crisis unit that would remain open until 8 December. At the time, the embassy estimated that around 1,600 French citizens were blocked in the country.

During this very particular situation, France viewed the fact that French citizens were forced to stay in Thailand (without the possibility of a quick solution) as a potential security threat. From 20 November to 8 December, the Crisis Centre issued 12 messages regarding the situation via the Travellers’ Advice website and set up a hotline available 24/7 to the general public, handling some 3,500 calls.

While their safety was not directly threatened, departure assistance for French nationals needed to be organized. On 1 and 2 December, Air France-KLM was able to get two flights out of the country from Phuket Airport in southern Thailand and to start rotations again. On 3 December, a large carrier was chartered by the Crisis Centre to participate in the evacuations. It brought 516 people from the Don Mueang Airport in Bangkok. On 4 December, the airport blockade was lifted, allowing all travellers to gradually board commercial flights and ending the Thai crisis.

Multiple crisis

The Mumbai attacks

Deadly and unexpected attacks...

Meanwhile, during the night of 26 November 2008 in Bombay, a group of Islamist terrorists launched a series of ten attacks that would last until 29 November. These attacks struck the main train station, luxury hotels, a restaurant popular with tourists and a Jewish community centre. The attackers sought to hit the country’s economic centre, attack Westerners and terrorize people. The Bombay attacks killed 88 people, including 26 foreign nationals (two of whom French), and injured 312.

In autumn 2008, the recently created Crisis Centre had to manage two simultaneous events that each affected French citizens. In cooperation with our local consulate general, a team was dispatched to Bombay to locate and assist the French nationals who were the victims of the attacks.

Bombay and Bangkok were two entirely different situations that both required the skilful and coordinated efforts of the newly created CDC. Although now well established, its ability to handle several crises simultaneously was tested from the start.

Crises plurielles

État d’urgence en Thaïlande

Très vite, tout le monde s'est rendu compte que [le Centre de Crise] générait de la mobilisation...

A l’automne 2008, la Thaïlande se déchire. Adversaires et partisans de l’ex-Premier ministre Thaksin Shinawatra, en fuite à l’étranger, s’opposent dans des manifestations de plus en plus violentes. Le 2 septembre 2008, l’état d’urgence est proclamé. En octobre, une manifestation anti-gouvernementale fait deux morts et des centaines de blessés. Le 25 novembre, les aéroports de Bangkok, les plus importants du pays, sont envahis par les manifestants.

Une bombe fait un mort et une vingtaine de blessés dans les rangs des occupants de l’aéroport Don Mueang de Bangkok avec pour conséquence la suspension sine die des vols internationaux. La fermeture des aéroports bloque près de 100 000 passagers dans le pays.
L’ambassade de France à Bangkok ouvre immédiatement une cellule de crise qui fonctionnera jusqu’au 8 décembre. A ce moment-là, parmi les voyageurs contraints à la patience, l’ambassade estime qu’il y a 1 600 Français.

Dans ce contexte très particulier, vu de France, le fait que des compatriotes soient contraints de rester en Thaïlande (sans qu’il soit possible d’entrevoir une issue rapide) est perçu aussi comme un danger sécuritaire potentiel. Du 20 novembre au 8 décembre, le Centre de Crise diffuse 12 messages relatifs à la situation via le site "Conseils aux voyageurs" et met en place une plate-forme d’information téléphonique, ouverte 24 h sur 24 au public, qui traite 3 500 appels.

Même si leur sécurité n’est pas directement menacée, une aide au départ des Français doit être organisée. Les 1er et 2 décembre, Air France-KLM parvient à faire décoller 2 avions depuis l’aéroport de Phuket dans le sud du pays et à commencer les rotations. Le 3 décembre, un gros porteur est affrété par le Centre de crise pour participer au dispositif. Il ramène 516 personnes depuis l’aéroport Don Mueang de Bangkok. Le 4 décembre, le blocus des aéroports est levé permettant le retour progressif de tous les voyageurs sur des vols commerciaux et mettant ainsi fin à la crise thaïlandaise.

Crises plurielles

Les attentats de Bombay

Des attentats [...] meurtriers et très inattendus...

Au même moment, à Bombay, dans la nuit du 26 novembre 2008, un commando de terroristes islamistes commence une série de 10 attaques qui dureront jusqu’au 29 novembre. Ces attentats en série visent, quatre jours durant, la gare centrale, des hôtels de luxe, un restaurant touristique et un centre communautaire juif. Les terroristes ont voulu toucher le centre économique du pays, s’attaquer aux Occidentaux et frapper les esprits. Les attentats de Bombay font 88 morts, dont 26 ressortissants étrangers parmi lesquels 2 Français et 312 blessés.

En cet automne 2008, le tout récent Centre de Crise doit donc gérer simultanément deux évènements qui, chacun, affectent des ressortissants français.
Une équipe est dépêchée à Bombay pour rechercher et assister les compatriotes victimes des attentats, en lien avec notre consulat général.

Bombay, Bangkok : deux situations de crise aux antipodes mais qui ont mobilisé les savoir-faire et la coordination des équipes du CDCS tout juste créé. Sa capacité, aujourd’hui avérée, de résister à plusieurs crises simultanées vient d’être testée.