A plane disappeared and the families are waiting...

Although flying is statistically the safest mode of travel, the list of air disasters during the 2008–2018 decade is long. It includes Yemenia Airways IY626 and Air France AF447 in 2009, Lao Airlines QV301 in 2013, Malaysia Airlines MH370 and MH17 and Air Algérie AH5017 in 2014, Germanwings 4U9525 in 2015, and EgyptAir MS804 in 2016.

The Crisis Centre is mobilized...

The Crisis Centre is mobilized during any aircraft disappearance or crash. These crises, which are quite shocking due to their suddenness and large casualty numbers, present a very specific situation. It is important to quickly understand what happened, respond to family members’ inquiries and establish the list of victims. The flight manifest (passenger list) is a reference point, but some travellers may have missed their flight or decided not to travel at the last minute. Passengers sometimes board at the last minute without being included on the initial manifest. The reasons for a crash are determined following an investigation by specialists that may take years. For the CDCS’s Individual Cases Unit, handling an air disaster means managing the first hours and days with families, identifying victims and repatriating their bodies.

It also means being available

It also means being available throughout the investigation and legal proceedings. This is an important period during which strong relationships must be created and staff must be available to provide psychological, administrative and legal assistance to victims’ families. Until late 2018, this was the role of the ambassador in charge of air disasters, who reported to the CDCS. The ambassador would ensure that families received all necessary assistance, especially that which gives them access to verified information to address their needs and questions as well as to help them prepare and complete necessary procedures. Efforts focused on establishing relationships and dialogue on a daily basis to provide a contact point for grieving families who may have to deal with official procedures for years to come. A new system has now been created, coordinated by the Interministerial Delegation for Victim Support (DIAV), to support victims’ families in the long term. The diplomatic dimension of addressing air disasters remains the responsibility of the CDCS.

Personnal Account

Why do we need a memorial?

For as long as humans have been living in civilization, they have ritualised grief and the burial of the dead. The cemetery always plays a key role in these rites because it is the place where we separate ourselves from the dead and where we gather to pay our respects. The first step towards accepting death is participating in the funeral and the burial or cremation. Later, coming back to the tomb helps to go through the grieving process by gradually accepting that the place of the deceased individual is now with the dead.
When an individual dies far from France it is very important for families for the body to be repatriated so that a ceremony to say goodbye may be held. Within the Crisis and Support Centre’s Individual Case Support Unit, Virginie Liang, responsible for deceased individuals, supports families who have lost a loved one abroad through the repatriation process. When it is possible to hold a funeral, the burial place naturally becomes a place for reflection.

But in some circumstances, such as natural disasters or air disasters, it is not possible to find the body. This is what happened to the 21 families of the 54 French victims of Air Algeria flight 5017 which came down on 24 July 2014 south of Gao in Mali. Damien Deluz-Martineau, psychologist at the Crisis and Support Centre, tells us what happens next. “It is at this point that my role took on a special importance. I already worked regularly with the Crisis and Support Centre but I was always attached to the Human Resources Department as an occupational psychologist. However, I was being asked to work with the CDCS more and more frequently and for longer periods each time. After the Air Algeria accident, the President of the French Republic, François Hollande, brought together the families and offered them the opportunity to travel to the place where the accident happened and where a funerary stele would be erected.

The CDCS organised the travel. In the intervening time, the psychologist remained in touch with the families and relayed back to the rest of the teams. “In April 2015, thanks to the precious help of the Ministry of Defence, we were able to take them to Mali. It was a hard-to-reach crash zone so logistics were essential. It was necessary to take an initial flight in a French State aircraft from Paris to Ouagadougou followed by a second flight by army Transall from Ouagadougou to Gao and then a third flight by military helicopter to the site of the commemorative stele. Nearly 250 people had to make the journey.

It was a tough journey for the families. But it enabled them to visit the crash site, to come together and start their grieving process. “When people die a long way away, the brain needs “proof” for it to face up to reality” explained Damien Deluz-Martineau. “By giving the families a place where they could come together, we enabled them to accept the impossible and to grieve for their loved ones.

Un avion qui disparait ce sont des familles qui attendent...

IY826 de Yemenia Airlines et AF447 d’Air France en 2009, QV301 de Lao Airlines en 2013, MH370 et MH17 de Malaysia Airlines et AH 5017 d’Air Algérie en 2014, 4U925 de Germanwings en 2015, MS804 d’Egypt Air en 2016… Bien que le transport aérien demeure le moyen de locomotion statistiquement le plus sûr, la liste des accidents aériens de la décennie 2008-2018 est longue.

Le Centre de Crise se trouve naturellement mobilisé dès qu’un avion disparaît ou s’écrase. Ces crises, très violentes par leur soudaineté et parce qu’elles touchent un nombre important de victimes, sont très particulières. Il importe de comprendre au plus vite ce qui s’est produit, de répondre aux proches et d’établir la liste des victimes. Le manifeste de vol (liste des passagers) constitue une base mais certains ont pu rater leur vol ou renoncer à leur voyage. Des passagers embarquent parfois in-extremis sans être inscrits sur le manifeste initial. Quant à expliquer les raisons de l’accident, c’est le résultat d’une enquête menée par des spécialistes parfois pendant des années. Gérer un crash aérien, c’est, pour l’Unité des affaires individuelles du CDCS, gérer les premières heures et jours avec les familles.

C’est aussi être présent pendant le temps long de l’enquête et des suites judiciaires. Une période pendant laquelle il est important de tisser des liens solides et de rester disponible pour soutenir psychologiquement, administrativement ou juridiquement, les familles des victimes. Jusqu’à fin 2018, c’était le rôle unique de l’ambassadeur chargé du suivi des catastrophes aériennes, qui était rattaché au CDCS. Il veillait à ce que les familles reçoivent toute l’assistance nécessaire, notamment en leur facilitant l’accès à une information vérifiée afin de répondre à leurs attentes et interrogations, en les aidant aussi à préparer et à accomplir l’ensemble des démarches nécessaires. C’est un travail de relation et de dialogue au quotidien, essentiel, un référent pour les familles endeuillées qui font face souvent à des années de procédures. Désormais, un nouveau dispositif coordonné par la Délégation interministérielle à l’aide aux victimes accompagne les familles des victimes dans le temps. La dimension diplomatique du suivi d’une catastrophe aérienne reste de la compétence du CDCS.

Témoignage

Pourquoi avons-nous besoin d’un lieu de mémoire ?

Dès que les êtres humains ont accédé à la civilisation, ils ont ritualisé le deuil et la sépulture des morts. Dans ces rites, le cimetière joue toujours un rôle primordial puisque c’est là qu’on se sépare du défunt et où l’on vient pour se recueillir. Le premier pas vers l’acceptation de la mort se fait en assistant aux obsèques et lors de l’inhumation ou de la crémation. Plus tard, venir se recueillir sur la tombe permet de vivre son deuil en acceptant progressivement que la « place » du défunt est désormais parmi les morts.

Lorsqu’un décès survient loin de France, il est crucial pour les familles que le corps soit rapatrié pour permettre une cérémonie d’adieu. Au sein de l’Unité des affaires individuelles du Centre de Crise et de Soutien, Virginie Liang, chargée des personnes décédées, épaule les familles qui ont perdu un proche à l’étranger dans les démarches de rapatriement. Quand des obsèques sont possibles, le lieu d’inhumation devient tout naturellement celui du recueillement.

Mais il est des circonstances, comme les catastrophes naturelles ou les accidents aériens, où le corps ne peut pas être retrouvé. C’est ce qui est arrivé aux familles des victimes du vol 5017 d’Air Algérie qui s’est écrasé le 24 juillet 2014 au sud de Gao (Mali). Parmi elles, les 21 familles des 54 victimes françaises. La suite c’est Damien Deluz-Martineau, le psychologue du Centre de Crise et de Soutien, qui la relate. « C’est à ce moment que l’importance de ma fonction s’est affirmée » raconte-t-il. « J’intervenais déjà régulièrement au CDCS mais j’étais toujours rattaché à la direction des Ressources humaines en tant que psychologue du travail. Pourtant mes missions ponctuelles devenaient de plus en plus fréquentes et s’allongeaient. Après l’accident d’Air Algérie, le président de la République, François Hollande, a réuni les familles et leur a proposé de se rendre sur les lieux du drame où une stèle serait posée. »

C’est le CDCS qui est chargé d’organiser ce déplacement. Dans l’intervalle, le psychologue reste à l’écoute des familles et assure l’interface avec le reste des équipes. « En avril 2015, grâce à l’aide précieuse du ministère de la Défense, nous avons pu les accompagner au Mali. Avec une zone de crash très difficile d’accès, la logistique était essentielle. Il a fallu prévoir un premier vol dans un avion de l’État français de Paris à Ouagadougou, un deuxième vol en Transall de l’armée de Ouagadougou à Gao puis un troisième en hélicoptère militaire jusqu’à la stèle commémorative. Pour près de 250 personnes. »

Pour les familles, le voyage est éprouvant. Mais il leur permet d’accéder à l’endroit où l’avion s’est écrasé, de se recueillir et de commencer le travail de deuil. « Lorsque le décès a lieu très loin, le cerveau a besoin de « preuves » pour appréhender la réalité. » explique Damien Deluz-Martineau « En donnant aux familles un endroit où se recueillir, nous leur avons permis d’accepter l’inéluctable et de vivre leur deuil. »