One of the most serious epidemics of all time...

The Ebola virus was first identified in 1976, where an outbreak was observed in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (formerly Zaire) near the Ebola River. At the time, an international medical team was able to identify the as yet unknown virus and stop its spread. The Ebola virus causes an acute, very serious and often fatal illness. The average fatality rate – the percentage of deaths among those who fall ill – can be upwards of 50%.

This first outbreak, which occurred in rural, sparsely populated areas, killed 318 people in Zaire and 284 in Sudan. Between 1976 and 2013, Ebola never completely disappeared. The virus is contagious and there was no known treatment. Epidemic periods regularly hit the populations of Central Africa.

In December 2013, the virus reappeared in south-east Guinea. Between 2013 and 2015, more than 28,000 people contracted the virus and more than 11,000 died, mainly in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone as well as in Nigeria, Senegal and Mali. This was the first time that Ebola infections had occurred in West Africa.

The challenge of big epidemics

Fighting the virus

Under the auspices of local authorities and the World Health Organization, international aid organizations began arriving to help. France organized an aid programme for Guinea, with which it maintains historic ties, while the United States focused on Liberia and the United Kingdom on Sierra Leone. France’s support accounted for a significant share of all international aid Guinea received.

On 20 October 2014, the Prime Minister created an interministerial Ebola Task Force to coordinate and oversee France’s efforts. It relied on the resources of the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Health, the Interior, Defence, and Higher Education and Research. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs coordinated the international action and the CDCS provided the necessary logistical support for the Task Force.

To curb the virus’ spread, treatment centres had to be set up near infected patients and caretakers trained on the specific risks and prevention behaviours to adopt. To encourage medical teams to join in fighting the epidemic, they were guaranteed medical care if they contracted the disease. Finally, the programme included prevention activities to inform local populations about how the virus is transmitted and preventive actions to take, which are essential to prevent the virus from spreading.

Une des épidémies [..] les plus sévères jamais rencontrées...

La maladie à virus Ebola est connue depuis 1976, date à laquelle elle a été observée pour la première fois en République démocratique du Congo (ex-Zaïre) à proximité de la rivière éponyme. A l’époque, une équipe médicale internationale parvient à identifier le virus, jusque-là inconnu, et à stopper sa propagation. Le virus Ebola provoque une maladie aiguë, très grave et souvent mortelle : le taux moyen de létalité, c’est-à-dire la proportion de décès parmi les personnes malades peut atteindre 50%.

Cette première flambée, qui sévit dans des zones rurales et peu peuplées, fait 318 morts au Zaïre et 284 au sud du Soudan. Entre 1976 et 2013, Ebola ne disparait pas complètement. Le virus est contagieux et n’a pas de traitement connu. Des épisodes épidémiques frappent régulièrement les populations d’Afrique centrale.

En décembre 2013, le virus ressurgit au sud-est de la Guinée. Entre 2013 et 2015, il contamine plus de 28 000 personnes, en tuant plus de 11 000, majoritairement en Guinée, au Liberia et en Sierra Leone mais aussi au Nigeria, au Sénégal et au Mali. C’est la première fois que des cas d’infection par le virus Ebola sont rapportés en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Le défi des grandes épidémies

Mobilisation contre le virus

L’aide internationale se met en place, sous l’égide des autorités locales et de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé. La France organise un dispositif d’aide vers la Guinée avec qui elle entretient des liens historiques, tandis que les États-Unis concentrent leur action sur le Liberia et le Royaume-Uni sur la Sierra Leone. Le soutien de la France représente une part importante de toute l’aide internationale reçue par le pays.

Le 20 octobre 2014, le Premier ministre met en place une Task Force interministérielle Ebola pour assurer le pilotage et le suivi de l’engagement de la France. Elle s’appuie sur les ressources des ministères des Affaires étrangères, de la Santé, de l’Intérieur, de la Défense et de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche. C’est le Quai d’Orsay qui coordonne l’action internationale et le CDCS fournit l’appui logistique nécessaire à cette Task Force.

Pour juguler cette maladie, il faut déployer des centres de traitement au plus proche des personnes infectées, mais aussi former les personnels soignants à ce risque spécifique ainsi qu’aux comportements de prévention à adopter. Pour encourager les équipes médicales à venir lutter contre l’épidémie, leur prise en charge médicale, en cas de contamination, est garantie. Enfin, le dispositif comprend un important volet de prévention afin d’informer les populations sur les modes de transmission et les gestes de prévention, essentiels pour stopper le virus.