128 million people around the world require immediate humanitarian assistance

The Crisis and Support Centre does more than assist French nationals in distress abroad. Because a crisis does not choose its victims and all must be rescued, the Crisis Centre was created to centralize all types of assistance within a single organization. In a crisis situation, a plane carrying emergency relief or humanitarian aid for local populations may return to Paris with French nationals needing to be repatriated.

Alongside these activities, the Ministry also provides post-crisis stabilization support. A disaster may impact a country’s institutions and even its political, health or economic structures. In this type of situation, a system needs to be available to provide emergency relief and assist the country in its rebuilding efforts. This is the purpose of the Stabilization Department, created in 2014 to complement the Crisis Centre’s actions and which led to changing its name to the Crisis and Support Centre.

Confronting the emergency

Organizing the humanitarian response

Natural disasters, health crises, armed conflicts, political crises, displaced populations… The Mission for Humanitarian Action is responsible for coordinating France’s emergency humanitarian response.

The MAH acts in close coordination with other departments of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and may involve all French actors likely to provide an adapted response (ministerial departments, NGOs, civil security, armed forces, foundations). In most cases, its actions are part of an international response to which several actors partake, including the United Nations, International Organizations (Red Cross, Red Crescent, etc.), the Directorate-General for Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations of the European Commission (ECHO)…

An event occurs, the affected State calls for international assistance through European and/or UN mechanism. The Mission for Humanitarian Action examines the request and its ability to respond thereto, pulls together an appropriate response and coordinates the Government’s action.
By providing financial support to NGO and private partners or through direct deployment of human resources and equipment on the ground in the framework of an emergency operation, the MAH has the ability to react swiftly and appropriately – thanks to the support of the logistical unit of the CDCS which can provide transportation capacities, rapid shipment of equipment and emergency financial assistance.

Beyond episodes of extreme emergencies, the Mission for Humanitarian Action entertains a regular dialogue with French humanitarian actors, with whom it coordinates medium and long-term operations in protracted crisis situations (Irak, Syria, Bangladesh, etc.)

In 2017-2018, emergency and medium-term projects were conducted in Syria and its neighboring countries, in Irak, in the Western Balkans, the Palestinian territories, the Lake Chad basin, the Central African Republic, Madagascar, Domenica and Guatemala.

The MAH is also responsible for the dissemination and implementation of France’s humanitarian strategy. This five-year roadmap for humanitarian action adopted in 2018 revolves around three pillars: first, implementing an active humanitarian diplomacy promoting and reinforcing international humanitarian law through better protection of humanitarian and medical personnel on conflict theaters and increased dissemination of the associated legal principles within armed forces; second, increased resources devoted to a more efficient and transparent humanitarian action; third, a humanitarian action oriented towards sustained crisis resolution.

Confronting the emergency

Helping the rebuilding process

The Stabilization Department was created in 2014 to shore up the crisis response system with dedicated support for post-crisis recovery . The CDCS finances projects and is able to quickly mobilize experts to support political transitions and help countries recovering from a crisis move forward with the rebuilding process. Through actions that have a quick impact, the Crisis and Support Centre meets a twofold objective: help restore governmental functions and enable populations to return to living conditions that are as normal as possible.

Confronting the emergency

The CDCS’s stabilization support actions are based on three strategic areas:

1. Re-establishing security and basic governmental functions:
• Assist in mine clearance operations, building up and training security forces, and reintegrating former combatants
• Support electoral processes in countries in a post-crisis situation
• Re-establish access to basic services (energy, water, education, healthcare, etc.)
• Support transitional justice and access to justice for citizens

2. Stimulating the local economy and strengthening civil society:
• Assist in reconciliation processes (e.g., community or farmer-herder conflicts)
• Support media organizations and human rights advocates
• Contribute to local economic stimulation initiatives (income-generating activities, professional training, etc.)
• Aid efforts to re-establish dialogue between the government and civil society

3. Preparing the rebuilding process and long-term development:
• Support the government reform process (decentralization, public service, etc.)
• Redeploy the judicial system by training magistrates and strengthening the criminal justice system
• Revive public finances mobilizing domestic resources
• Prevent radicalization and fight violent extremism

128 millions de personnes à travers le monde ont besoin d'aide humanitaire immédiate

L’action du Centre de Crise et de Soutien dépasse l’aide aux Français en détresse à l’étranger. Parce qu’une crise ne choisit pas ses victimes et que toutes doivent être secourues, le CDCS est structuré autour de la volonté de rassembler tous les types d’aide. Ainsi, en situation de crise, un avion qui achemine des secours d’urgence ou de l’aide humanitaire destinés aux populations locales peut revenir à Paris avec, à son bord, les compatriotes qui doivent être rapatriés.

En parallèle, le Quai d’Orsay engage une réflexion sur l’accompagnement à la « sortie de crise ». Une catastrophe peut affecter les structures d’un pays et toucher jusqu’à l’organisation politique, sanitaire ou économique. Dans ce type de situation, un dispositif doit être capable de relayer l’aide d’urgence et d’accompagner le pays sur le chemin de la reconstruction. C’est le sens de la Mission pour la stabilisation qui, depuis 2014, complète l’action du Centre de Crise.

Face à l’urgence

Organiser la réponse humanitaire

Catastrophes naturelles, crises sanitaires, conflits armés, crises politiques, déplacements de population… La Mission pour l’action humanitaire (MAH) coordonne la réponse humanitaire d’urgence de la France.

Son action est concertée en lien avec d’autres directions du ministère des Affaires étrangères et peut impliquer tous les acteurs français susceptibles d’apporter une réponse adaptée (ministères, ONG, sécurité civile, moyens militaires, fondations). Elle s’inscrit le plus souvent dans le cadre d’une réponse internationale à laquelle prennent part les agences des des Nations unies, les organisations internationales – Croix-Rouge, Croissant-Rouge… – la Direction générale à l’aide humanitaire et à la protection civile de la Commission européenne (ECHO)…

Un évènement survient, l’Etat affecté fait appel à une assistance internationale via des mécanismes européens et/ou onusiens. La Mission pour l’Action humanitaire étudie la demande, ses capacités à pouvoir y répondre, consolide une réponse adaptée le cas échéant et coordonne la réponse de l’Etat.

Par un soutien financier à des projets d’ONG ou de partenaires privés ou par le déploiement de moyens humains et matériels dans le cadre d’actions d’urgence sur le terrain, la MAH peut agir rapidement grâce à l’appui de l’Unité de gestion administrative du Centre de crise et de soutien qui organise les moyens logistiques requis (envoi de fret, mobilisation des moyens de transport, déploiement de crédits d’urgence…). Cette structure propre au Centre de crise et de soutien garantit la rapidité et la flexibilité de la réponse.

Hors les phases d’extrême urgence, la Mission pour l’action humanitaire maintient un dialogue suivi avec les acteurs français de l’Humanitaire et mène avec ces dernières des actions sur le terrain, y compris sur le moyen et le long terme, sur les théâtres de crises durables (Irak, Syrie, Bangladesh, etc…)
En 2017-2018, des projets d’urgence et de moyen terme ont été déployés en Syrie et ses pays frontaliers, en Irak, dans les Balkans occidentaux, les Territoires palestiniens, le bassin du Lac Tchad, la République Centrafricaine, Madagascar, La Dominique ou le Guatemala.

La MAH est également chargée de la diffusion et de l’application de la Stratégie Humanitaire de la République française. Feuille de route de l’action humanitaire française pour cinq ans, la nouvelle stratégie humanitaire adoptée en 2018 s’ordonne autour de trois grands axes : La mise en œuvre d’une diplomatie humanitaire active avec la promotion et le renforcement du respect du droit international humanitaire en renforçant la protection des personnels médicaux et humanitaires sur les théâtres de conflit ou en diffusant davantage, auprès des forces armées, les principes liés à ce droit ; la mise à disposition de moyens accrus, avec pour objectif de tripler le volume annuel de l’aide humanitaire d’ici 2022, au service d’une action humanitaire plus efficace et transparente ; une action humanitaire au service du traitement durable des crises.

Face à l’urgence

Aider le processus de reconstruction

La Mission pour la Stabilisation a été créée en 2014 pour renforcer le dispositif de réponse aux crises avec un accompagnement dédié à la sortie de crise, Le CDCS finance des projets et a la capacité de mobiliser rapidement des experts afin de soutenir les transitions politiques et d’aider les pays ayant traversé une crise à avancer dans le processus de reconstruction. A travers des actions à impact rapide, le Centre de Crise et de Soutien répond à un double objectif : accompagner le redéploiement de fonctions régaliennes des États concernés et permettre aux populations de retrouver des conditions de vie et d’existence les plus normales que possible.

Face à l’urgence

3 axes d’action de soutien en stabilisation

1/ Le rétablissement de la sécurité et des fonctions de base de l’Etat :
• Appuyer le déminage, le renforcement et la formation des forces de sécurité, et la réinsertion des anciens combattants
• Soutenir les processus électoraux dans les pays en sortie de crise
• Rétablir l’accès aux services sociaux de base (accès à l’énergie, eau, éducation, santé…)
• Soutenir les processus de justice transitionnelle et l’accès à la justice pour les citoyens

2/ Relancer l’économie locale et renforcer la société civile :
• Accompagner les processus de réconciliation (conflits communautaires, agro-pastoraux)
• Appuyer les acteurs des médias et les défenseurs des droits de l’Homme
• Contribuer à la relance de l’économie locale (activités génératrices de revenus, formation professionnelle, etc.)
• Accompagner la reprise du dialogue entre l’Etat et la société civile

3/ Poser les jalons d’un processus de reconstruction et de développement sur le long terme :
• Accompagner les processus de réforme de l’Etat (décentralisation, fonction publique, etc.)
• Redéployer l’institution judiciaire par la formation des magistrats et le renforcement de la chaîne pénale
• Relancer les finances publiques et la mobilisation des ressources domestiques
• Prévenir la radicalisation et lutter contre l’extrémisme violent